Three Things I am hoping to learn to make me a better writer

One thing I have always struggled with while writing articles is a strong mix of both short and long sentences. I am hoping that I will learn to improve on this aspect of my writing. Learn to keep it short. That’s my goal. See what I did there?

I also want to learn the nuances of writing. For example, the what-not-to-do’s of writing. Small things such as learning what to avoid (using terms like very, words ending in LY) will help me to hone my craft.

Finally, I want to learn how to develop a plan before writing a piece. Often times I will begin with an idea, only to change half way through causing conflicting ideas to present themselves. While this has worked out sometimes, other times it makes the article look sloppy. I want to learn to rectify this.

Leave a Reply

